Reading and Waiting

I’m looking out my window at what feels, looks, and smells like a beautiful spring day. Warmer weather is already on its way to Walla Walla, despite the fact that February has just ended. (Hopefully I’m not jinxing anything.) The flowers that are starting to bloom outside of our office are a reminder of something else as well–the fact that it’s been quite a while since we’ve relayed the inner workings of this office to our readers! What have we been doing? Well, we’ve been reading 2,700-odd applications coming from all corners of the country and all across the globe. I’ll admit (and I’m sure that my colleagues would agree) that I’m pretty much ready for the next part of our cycle–the decision making, both on our end and yours–but it’s worth noting that there hasn’t been a single day that I’ve sat down in front of my computer, either in the office, on my couch, or at Patisserie (one of our local coffee shops) that I haven’t enjoyed this part of the process. So far this reading season, applications have brought tears to my eyes (both from joy and sadness), they’ve inspired me, and more importantly, they are the first concrete glimpse of how wonderful our group of applicants is, and in turn, how fantastic the class of 2017 will be.

But while I’ve been reading, you guys have been waiting. I hesitate to mention this benchmark, but we’re just a month away from releasing our decisions (“just a month” may not be a fair categorization–I’m sure for many of you that feels like a long time!). So, how does one wait efficiently? I’m not sure I have the answer. Maybe you’ve started knitting, or cooking, or volunteering; perhaps school work is still occupying much of your time (second semester senior year isn’t always as easy as it sounds!); possibly, even, you’ve found a new passion. Regardless of how you’ve been spending the last few months or so, it’s fair to assume that your accomplishments have also continued. You’re still working on that awesome research project you mentioned in your essay; you’re leading an athletic team to victory; you’ve remained committed as ever to your family responsibilities. This leads me to my next point, and it has to do with the light that’s at the end of what probably feels like a very long tunnel. The unfortunate part of the college process is that it can involve bad news. What I ask all of you to consider closely as the days in March dwindle is that no bad news, coming from any institution, is a statement on your ability to be successful in the next four years. Remember this, and be confident in the abilities that you all have demonstrated to our office and other offices around the country. It will, as they say, all work out in the end!

And until then, enjoy this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gd_rDkVQuKM

Leave a Reply

